The 1975 Show Rocked Bill Graham Civic Center

By Lauren Smith

IMG_3769

Photo by Lauren Smith

On April 28th, at the Bill Graham Civic Center in San Francisco, the alternative rock band The 1975 played. As the wild and eager fans waited outside the doors, you could tell everyone couldn’t wait for the concert to start. Once they were letting people including myself and some friends, there was an enormous amount of people pushing and running. As I walked through the security, they barely checked my ticket, and let me right in. I rushed through those doors not knowing what was going to hit me next. As a young teenager obsessed with this band, I had no clue how crazy it was going to be in the pit. There were people pushing you back and forth, and I’ve never been that close to so many strangers before. After about 30 minutes of waiting for the opening band to start playing, there was an issue with people throwing up from dehydration. I noticed workers passing out small water bottles, and people sips and passing them on to the next person. It shocked me that that many people didn’t care, they just drank the water.

As the first opening band, Colouring, came out, everyone started to scream. I give them serious credit for having an amazing bass sound you could feel through your whole body, but half the time they were singing, I couldn’t hear a word they said. Personally, even if their music wasn’t good, I have to say that the lead singer, Jack Kenworthy, was really hot and had an amazing voice. The second opening act, Pale Waves, was really good. The two main girls in the band were wearing all black clothes, black lipstick, and their faces were super pale. Like the first opening act, Colouring, most of their songs were really hard to hear.

 

IMG_3767 (1)

The 1975. Photo by Lauren Smith

The time was finally here! The 1975 was about to come on stage. Bright pink lights and smoke started to come out, then on came the band. They started to sing their song, “Love Me,” from their album “I like it when you sleep, for you are so beautiful yet so unaware of it,” which came out last year. Fast forward several songs, and I was on the verge of crying. They were so beautiful, and hearing their songs live was so precious to me. Elizabeth Zell, a student that I interviewed said, “The music was performed beautifully and the venue was nice too.” Another person I interviewed, Vorna Davis, said, “I expected it to be loud and spectacular,” and he got his wish.

This concert has been the first ever band concert I’ve ever been to. The other shows I’ve been to have only been a specific artist and just them singing, not a band  in the background. I am really thankful for having the opportunity to see The 1975, and I cannot wait to see them again.

Leave a Reply

