How Marcus Stays Healthy, Sporty: a Q&A

By Sammie Tse

IMG_7864

Marcus is happy, because he’s sporty. Photo by Sammie Tse

Throughout the three years that d.tech has been around, we have had different athletic directors. This year, we brought in a new member, Marcus Marshall. I sat down to find out how important he thought health and sports. 

Q: How important would you consider health?

Health is an essential part of living. However, sports aren’t necessary. They both go hand in hand.

Q: Why do you think health is essential?

Because it’s associated with a well being and a longer life.

Q: What are some ways to stay healthy besides sports?

Good eating, meditation, exercise, and staying happy.

Q: How often do you meditate and exercise?

Meditate, not that much, but I hope to do it once a day for about 10 minutes. Exercise, 5-6 days a week, 30 minutes to 2 hours, depends on the activity.

Q: How do you maintain your happiness?

Understanding what I want, and keeping the people that make me happy close, but also focusing on me and taking care of myself.

Q: What sports did you play when you were younger, and what do you play now? Do you think it formed you as a person?

I played baseball, football, basketball, golf, and rugby. Playing sports builds character, and teaches skills such as teamwork and being a leader. It made me determined to learn on my own, and I made a lot of my close friends through sports.

Q: If you never played sports, do you think you would be different?

I think I would be fine, but my qualities wouldn’t be as developed. I don’t think I would have the same amount of motivation as I do now, and I would be influenced differently.

Q: What was your favorite memory as a kid playing sports?

Being able to practice with my friends, and all those team dinners and games.

Q: What was a moment that stuck with you that wasn’t so pleasant? Were you able to learn any lessons from that memory?

Losing the little big game [football] my senior year by one point. I was upset, but I was able to learn to accept defeat. It was my fault for losing, so I had to take ownership of my mistake, and couldn’t blame anyone else besides myself.

Leave a Reply

