New Teacher Alert! Q&A with Emmy Joseph

By Katie Toye

IMG_0426

Photo courtesy of Emmy Joseph

Emmy Joseph is one of the latest friendly new teacher faces on campus. We sat down with her to find out exactly where she came from, and what she’s up to now.

Q: What do you do here at d.tech?

I kind of have the same role as Quincy; we’re Academic Support.

Q: How did you first get involved with d.tech or even hear of us?

I started as a sub here. I moved to California in September from Virginia. I was a teacher in Virginia, and this was my first California job.

Q: Why’d you make such a big move out here?

I  got engaged, and my husband worked out here.

Q: Oh, I see. So how’d you start teaching?

I wanted to go into social work. I studied chem for my degree since I was on the pre-pharmacy track. Afterwards I didn’t want to just be a “professional pill pusher.” Haha. So I thought about going into education. I actually emailed my old high school principal, and he told me to first get into the sub system. So I was a substitute teacher there. I also got a degree in Spanish. After a while, I got a provisional license, and made the transition to special ed. I had a lot of experience in the science field, so I helped teach science, which allowed kids to have two teachers in a room.

Q: How’d you choose special ed as a path for teaching?

I had a very good school experience. In high school, middle school, elementary school, I had great teachers, I learned a lot, it was a great experience. I took every AP class my high school offered. Everything academically offered, I took. I felt I was in a bubble, though. In school, there were kids who struggled. My goal in education was to support those who needed it. Learning should be fun for kids. So I got provisionally licensed in special ed. This is my 5th year now.

Q: Where did you study and how did you choose your path?

I studied chemistry and Spanish and pre-pharmacy at Virginia Commonwealth University.

Q: How’d you choose your college?

It was the biggest scholarship. Haha. I wanted a degree related to pharmacy. And Spanish was just fun. I love Latin culture and this was a chance for me to learn more about it.

Q: Is there something you felt really changed your decisions or impacted you?

If i had stayed in pharmacy, I would have made a lot of money, but I wouldn’t have been fulfilled. I wouldn’t have felt those personal connections. I had such a positive education experience, and that’s what I wanted to do. I wanted to play that role in a kid’s life. I’ve always loved kids. Always babysitting, being that one friend holding the baby, playing with the five year old.

Q: What advice do you have for the students trying to figure out their future?

Learning is fun, even if there are really frustrating aspects of it. There are a lot of adults who made a choice to be with you guys everyday. You guys are really special.

Q: What goals do you have for yourself here at d.tech?

I want to have a co-teaching relationship. I can be support with science and math. I can form the marriage between general education teachers and helping individual students. The kids I worked with in Virginia I still have great relationships with. We text, FaceTime, and I try to be a person they can go to. I really want to develop relationships. Relationships are key.

One thought on “New Teacher Alert! Q&A with Emmy Joseph

  1. Hey Katie! I really like your piece! I know Emmy because she spends a lot of time working in Freedom’s classroom, but I didn’t very much about her outside of what I saw in the classroom. I found her journey through school and the workforce very insightful. I find Emmy very useful already, but now I know what her goals are, so I can utilize the areas in which she is strongest to benefit both her and I.

Leave a Reply

